Arts Partners


TwispWorks was established in 2009 to redevelop and revitalize the vacant 6.4 acre Twisp Ranger Station located in the heart of Twisp at the intersection of Highway 20 and Glover Street.  TwispWorks is the place where people, place and ideas come together to increase the economic vitality of the Methow Valley. Occupants of the campus include local businesses, community organizations, artists, craftspeople and producers who have created a nexus for arts, culture and community.

TwispWorks and our campus partners offer a wide range of engaging classes and community events suitable for people of all ages. People can shop from local producers, tour active artist studios, watch demonstrations and performances and enjoy outdoor spaces including a native plant demonstration garden and a natural dye garden.

Check out all TwispWorks has to offer at our Web site: See you at TwispWorks!


What’s at TwispWorks

Building 1 – The Gateway Building
-A love of nature and light is captured in the artwork of Mary Appfel. Her work portrays nature through enchanted realism using paint and collage on canvas and woodblock. Shivelight Studio is open by appointment.
-Alchemy on Demand is a full service creative agency with a passion for clients who are creating a world for everyone.
-Masha Falcov is a multi-faceted artist working in digital art, lampworked glass and ink.
-Methow Recycles inspires and facilitates resource conservation through recycling, waste prevention and materials reuse.
-Blackcap Builders Collective is a group of artists, builders and craftspeople designing and building custom homes in the Methow Valley.

Building 2–The Methow Valley Interpretive Center, recognizing the inhabitants of the Methow Valley prior to European colonization.

Building 3A – Methow Natives, a native plant nursery specializing in habitat restoration.

Building 4 – Fall 2020 saw the expansion of the Independent Learning Center into Building #4. The garage will house the new Automotive Tech program.

Building 5 – The Tree Cooler
-The Tree Cooler is home to artist Donna Keyser’s studio. Little Star South Collaborative offering high-quality Montessori childcare program to infants and toddlers in Twisp

Building 6 The Independent Learning Center is the Methow Valley School District’s alternative high school.

Building 7 – eqpd home of the iconic Last Bag and Daily Mask

Building 8 – The Road Shop
-Metal artist Steve Ward
-The Methow Valley School District’s popular Metal Shop operates out of Building 8.

Building 9 – The Bernard Hosey Founders Building
-Nine local jewelers and one lapidary make up The Methow Valley Jewelers Collective, a boutique retail and studio space.
-Fireweed Print Shop is the home of teaching artist, Laura Gunnip, as well as a retail space and a community resource for letterpress and screen-printing classes.
-Your Space@TwispWorks is a flexible space where artists, educators and community groups hold a variety of classes and events
-Local radio with roots – 97.5 KTRT
-First Creek Partners is a nonprofit consulting firm
-Anthony “Twig” Wheeler is the improv performance artist, storyteller, Somatic Experiencing practitioner, and naturalist who heads up Crack In The Concrete Productions.
-The vintage 1951 Spartan Imperial Mansion travel trailer parked alongside Building #10 is home to the Spartan Art Project, an unconventional gallery space for local, regional and nationally ranked artists’ works.

Building 10 – South Warehouse
-Textile artist Sara Ashford works with plants and other materials to create natural pigments which she applies to various forms of fine and functional textile art at Culler Studio. She shares her space with her daughter, silversmith Grace Ashford of Grace Ashford Designs.
-Artist Perri Howard work includes painting, drawing, sculpture and sound.
-Giving locally made and beautiful gifts is easy at Valley Goods, a holiday gift shop opening in December 2020.

Building 11 – South Shed
-The South Shed houses the studio of woodworker, Pete Nawrot who has been creating beautiful, yet functional, hand crafted cabinetry for over twenty years. Methow Metalworks’ Jerry Merz creates functional metal art for garden and home, from trellises and arbors to handrails, gates and fire pits. Watch Jerry work the forge in his studio or register for one of his incredibly popular open forge nights.
-HeronCraft offers a wide variety of fiber arts and woodworking including furniture, bows & arrows, weaving, carving, and timber frames.
-Patrick Hannigan’s birdhouses really are for the birds. At Nice Nests he creates species specific nesting boxes for a huge variety of local birds, hawks, owls and bats.

Building 12 – West Shed
-Stop by the studio of Hannah Viano to see the amazing paper cut art of this nationally known author, illustrator and adventurer. Sharing the space with Hannah is Foxtail Pottery whose functional and beautiful pottery is inspired by architecture and textiles from around the world.
-Practicing the vanishing art of ancestral broom making, Bristle & Stick is the working studio and retail space for artist Betania Ridenour.
Serious Fun is a small architecture and designs firm run by husband and wife team Kit & Sam Kollmeyer.
Main Events Rentals and Catering Kitchen – Kathy Borgersen of Sunflower Catering operates her catering business out of this commercial kitchen on campus. She also rents the kitchen for community or private use for events and classes.

Building 13 – Brewery Building
-The art of good beer – Stop by the Old Schoolhouse Brewery and Taproom if touring the campus leaves you thirsty!

Building 14
-The Methow Valley News, locally grown and internationally known, the Methow Valley News has been the Valley’s hometown paper for over 100 years!
Impel Construction specializes in custom residential construction.
The Plaza@TwispWorks is a 14,000 square foot outdoor space featuring the new Performing Arts Pavilion, generous lawn and walkways surrounded by native plants, and a splash pad for kids to cool down and play in.
The Front Lawn@TwispWorks is home to FORK! The Valley’s first food truck! Open Wed-Fri from 11AM-3PM and Saturdays from 1-3PM.

Public Art

Public art abounds on the TwispWorks campus. The massive steel sphere, “Entro” by sculptor Bernard Hosey, welcomes visitors on the front lawn while “Ignis Internum” by TwispWorks partner Steve Ward, is located in front of the Bernard Hosey Founders Building. “The Lookout” by Tori Karpenko serves as both a tribute to the campus’ Forest Service past and as a unique outdoor meeting space. The important role of irrigation in the Methow Valley is celebrated in the artwork of partner Hannah Viano that surrounds the TwispWorks Performing Arts Pavilion and Plaza.

Staff and Board


Don Linnertz, Executive Director

Tori Karpenko, Director of Campus Operations

Chris Schneider, Director of Marketing & Development

Julie Tate-Libby, Director of Programming

Sarah Prochnau, Director of Partnerships & Marketing Programs

Anne Acheson, Business Manager

Joe Bastian, Facilities Manager

Linsey Bryson, Retail Operations and Events Manager

Board of Directors:

Perri Howard, President

Rachel Hong, Vice-President

Steve Kern, Treasurer

Jim Salter, Secretary

Susan Donahue, Executive Member At Large

Char Alkire

Joanna Bastian

Phil Davis

Anne Eckmann

Jane Gilbertsen

Baylie Peplow

Tom Robinson

Stuart Spencer