Poetry Out Loud competition, Okanogan High School

Thu, Jan 16, 2020 at 7pm

Okanogan High School’s twelfth annual Poetry Out Loud competition will be held Thu, Jan 16, at 7pm at Okanogan High School. Competing for cash prizes and the chance to advance to the regional contest in Spokane will be school finalists Allie Eylar, Anna Arroyo, Madeline Luther (2019 POL WA State champion), Karina Torres, Malina Weigel, Olivia Richards, Daisy Berthelson, Sydney Varshock, and Destyne McDonald.

Created by the Poetry Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts, Poetry Out Loud is a national poetry recitation contest that encourages high school students to learn about great poetry through memorization, performance, and competition.

The program is sponsored by Okanogan High School in partnership with Methow Arts Alliance. Cash prizes are donated by: Okanogan Kiwanis, Bob and Janet Shacklett, Dennis and Julia O’Connor, Roy and Amber Johnson, Dan and Susan Brown, Darcy and Dean Klepec, Ashley and Brian Goetz, Karen and Luke Cheseldon, Toni and Jason Brown, Sandy and Dave Colbert, Shawn and Kendal Ingraham.

Okanogan High School 2019 school finalists

When: Thu Jan 16, 2020, at 7pm. Where: Okanogan High School cafeteria. Seating is limited. Admission: by donation, all proceeds support the Poetry Out Loud program at OHS. More info: Dennis P. O’Connor at 422-3770, ext. 3667.